October Wild West Trivia

The first Monday of each month I’ll post a Wild West Trivia Question on this blog. Please leave your answer or best guess in the comment section of the blog post for a chance to win one of my books. At the end of the week, I’ll draw a name from all those who entered the contest and post the winner’s name in the comment section–be sure to check back to see who wins each week!

Question: Who said…. ‘You’all can go to hell. I am going to Texas.’?

texas money

28 thoughts on “October Wild West Trivia

  1. Thank you everyone for participating in my Wild West Trivia Contest! If you’re ever lucky enough to take a tour of the Alamo you’ll learn all kinds of neat things about the men who fought there and Davy Crockett was one of them! Don’t forget to check back on Saturday when the winner of this contest drawing will be announced!

  2. Of course, Davy Crockett came to Texas, where he became one of the heroes of the Alamo!

    Pat Cochran
    Texan Born and Bred

  3. I hope it’s okay that I looked it up, it was David “Davy” Crockett of course.

    I was lucky enough to see The Alamo when I briefly lived in Austin. I was flabbergasted when I saw that it was right in the downtown area of San Antonio. I’m fascinated with American history, so being able to see something so tangibly sparking with the events that took place there was amazing.

    I was born in Central California, so I learned about the gold rush, Native American culture, the Spanish Missions and so on. Then our family moved to the Washington, DC area – where I currently live, and getting to see history from the US Capitol is both humbling and terrifying.

    Anyway… looking up this quote led me to information that I’d never read before. So thanks for giving me another opportunity to learn something new. *going back to the wiki now* 🙂

    • Karen, thanks for stopping by the blog and you bet it’s okay to look up the answer…that’s one of the reason I have this trivia contest is to share my love of the old west and its history. If one of the questions or topics catches your interest and makes you want to find out more–all the better! I can’t tell you how side-tracked I get researching the questions, lol!

  4. Wow. A week later, I finally have Internet again. Amazing how dependent we are/I am with that….
    Obviously the answer is Davy Crockett, and I totally agree about getting side-tracked when answering the questions. I remember spending over an hour one time when looking up the question about a bar in Alaska. I could have spent even longer….

Leave a Reply

