Buck Owens

Did you know that Dwight Yoakam was largely influenced by Buck Owens‘style of music and eventually teamed up with him for a duet of “Streets of Bakersfield” in 1988. Their duet was Owens’ first No. 1 single in 16 years. In an interview, Yoakam described the first time he met with Owens:

We sat there that day in 1987 and talked about my music to that point, my short career, and what I’d been doing and how he’d been watching me. I was really flattered and thrilled to know that this legend had been keeping an eye on me.

6 thoughts on “Buck Owens

  1. One of the best things my husband introduced me to was country music….back in the late 70’s, early 80’s when it was still country western music. We would watch Hee Haw and laugh like crazy people. Buck Owens is still a favorite of ours and I love Dwight Yoakum with those tight, ripped jeans and his fabulous jackets! He’s a pretty good actor too.

  2. Hi, I am from the post-Dwight Yoakum years as a country music fan, but I will definitely check him out! Music AND jeans! I’m waiting for the next Cash Brothers book and it’s taking forever! 🙂
    Hope all is going well for you!
    Hilda

    • Hi Hilda–hope you’ve been well and your weather is improving 🙂 I’m excited about The Cowboy’s Destiny…the ebook version is available May 1st and the paperback May 6th–hope you enjoy Buck’s story when you get the chance to read it!

Leave a Reply

