May Wild West Trivia

The first Monday of each month I post a Wild West Trivia Question. Please leave your answer or best guess in the comment section of the blog post for a chance to win one of my books. At the end of the week, I’ll draw a name from all those who entered the contest and post the winner’s name in the comment section–be sure to check back to see who wins!

Question: Who was the only woman in Texas history to accompany her own herd of Texas longhorns up the Chisholm Trail? Hint: She’s also known as the Texas Cattle Queen.

Lizzie Texas Cattle queen

25 thoughts on “May Wild West Trivia

  1. Elizabeth Ellen Johnson Williams (“Lizzie”) -she was a school teacher, cattle dealer, and investor. Born in Cole County, Missouri then moved to Texas (my home state).

  2. Lizzie E. Johnson was the only woman alone to accompany her herd up the Chisholm Trail. The other two known cattle queens accompanied their husbands.

  3. HI, Marin. I didn’t know the answer but I do now! That must surely be an interesting story. I would like to read more about her some time (when I have time!). I’m currently reading a trilogy by Mary Conneally and I’m in the second book, and it just so happens to be a widow who with her three daughters and a cowpoke are driving some of her cattle across Montana to sell them. It’s entertaining so far, but wow, what a hard way to make a living! On another subject, I FINALLY have THE COWBOY’S DESTINY and am going to read it soon! As usual, I’m going to have the previous book close by for reminding myself what happened last time. My memory really is bad.

    Anyway, I wanted to wish you a HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY! I hope you and your daughter are able to get together. (sorry, I can’t remember if you have more than one child.)

    Cheers!
    Hilda

    • Hi Hilda–thanks for stopping by the blog and saying “Hi”! I had a very nice mother’s day–Marin and I went had pedi/mani’s together and then went out to dinner tonight with my son. This week Marin is graduating from college so I’m both sad and so proud–kids just grow up too darn fast! Hope you enjoy The Cowboy’s Destiny …let me know what you think when you have time to read it. Hope all is well with you and your family! *Hugs*

      • You know I will (leave a comment)! Since each book is so wonderful, I have no doubt this one will be the same. I *thought* you had two kids, but didn’t want to act like I was sure there were two since I couldn’t remember for sure …. 🙂 Glad you had a good day. I had a good “aunt’s” day too.

        Hugs back atcha!

Leave a Reply

