Merle Haggard

Haggard’s first top 10 hit was “(My Friends Are Gonna Be) Strangers” in 1965. From the 1960s through the 1980s, Haggard had 26 #1 country singles including classics such as “Mama Tried,” “Okie from Muskogee,” and “Today I Start Loving You Again,” which has been covered more than 400 times. He told Rolling Stone magazine that the song that tops his list of songs he wishes he had written is Johnny Cash’s “Ring Of Fire.” He also gave his definition of great song: “It’s got to make a blue flame go behind my left ear and chill bumps run all over my body.”

2 thoughts on “Merle Haggard

  1. I love cowboys and the cowboy lifestyle. I guess that’s why I love cowboy romance books so much and country music. So thank you for your great books on cowboys.

    • Hi Therese–thanks for stopping by the blog and leaving a comment! There’s something romantic about the cowboy way of life–it’s a tough life in a lot of ways but an honest and heartfelt one. I’m a big country music fan, too…every song is a mini-book that tells a story 🙂 Enjoy the upcoming holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

