Favorite Holiday Movies

I love holiday movies—nothing like laughter or a good cry to put you in the mood. Here are a few of my favorite movies—if I catch these on TV, I’ll stay up past my bedtime to watch them.

The Family Man
A greedy Wall Street trader gets a taste of family life on Christmas morning—minivans and all—and begins to realize money may not be the key to happiness.

xx

Planes, Trains and Automobiles
This is more of a Thanksgiving movie than a Christmas film, but it’s about holiday travel, as two mismatched travelers trying to get to Chicago drive each other nuts along the way.

xxx

Bad Santa
Billy Bob Thornton is a naughty Kris Kringle-a drunken robber set on looting a department store.

xxxxx

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
Who can resist an outcast like Rudolph saving Christmas for little kids around the world?

xxxxxx

Home Alone
Isn’t it every kid’s dream to be left on their own for awhile, then become a Super Hero and save his home from robbers?

xxxxxx

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
Who can resist inviting the Griswold’s and their “relatives” into their home during the holidays?

xxxxxxx

A Christmas Story
It’s all about the Red Ryder BB gun in this movie.

xxxxxxxx

As for favorite books…the one closest to my heart is still the book I wrote in 2008, The Cowboy and the Angel. (Available in e-book) What can I say–I’m a sucker for kids in need of homes and love during the holidays!

cowboyandangel_cvrsm
Renée Sweeney will do whatever it takes to keep a roof over the heads of Detroit’s street kids. Even if it means stepping in front of a ten-ton wrecking ball aimed at their temporary home. And especially if it means clashing with gorgeous corporate cowboy Duke Dalton.
To Duke, the blue-eyed blonde seems more like an angel than a social worker. Until he discovers a group of runaways camping out in his warehouse! The Tulsa businessman came to set up shop in a new town, not provide free housing for the masses. But Renée and the kids are making him rethink his bottom line…and what the spirit of the Christmas season really means.
Now this cowboy Santa is looking to give Renée—and her young charges—a gift straight from his heart!

What’s your favorite holiday movie and or book!

25 thoughts on “Favorite Holiday Movies

  1. Marin, how did I miss that book? I snatched it today. We have several favorite holiday movies, too. I can’t remember the name of the one with Kathy Ireland in which she’s Santa’s good daughter, but we always watch it. We dropped our cable so I’ll miss Hallmark’s Christmas movies this year, but we’ll fill in with Netflix. Have a great Thanksgiving!

    • Caroline–thanks for picking up a copy of The Cowboy and the Angel *Hugs*! When we moved to Houston we ended up with Direct TV and we don’t get the Hallmark Channel–I had hubby double check and for some reason we just don’t get it with our package–which means like you, I’ll have to rent some of the Hallmark favorites this year–waiting for my daughter to come home form grad school so I have someone to cry with when I watch them 🙂

  2. I started following you because of the Cowboy and the Angel. Glad to see you’re promoting it. I LOVED that story.

    I love Family Man too, but my top favorite Christmas movie is One Magic Christmas. With a cowboy angel named Gabriel, and a visit from Santa, you can’t beat this…

    • Hi Lynn–yes, I think I have all my books with Harlequin now available in e-book so it’s fun to be able to tell readers they can find a copy now if they missed it all those years ago. I’m glad someone else likes Family Man, too…I love books and movies where men redeem themselves and it’s always fun when kids are involved 🙂

  3. I love Holiday movies and books!!!! I just saw one of the best Hallmark movies. It is one of the new 12 Christmas movies. You have to watch Angels and Ornaments. It was so beautiful it made me cry! 🙂

    Rosanne

    • Rosanne–I’ll have to check into renting Angels and Ornaments–because we don’t get the Hallmark -Channel….that will teach me for letting hubby sign us up for the TV package. It sounds like a cute movie and I always love a good holiday cry 🙂

  4. My favorite is A Charlie Brown Christmas. I also watch Holiday Inn, White Christmas and all of the Hallmark Christmas movies. I have them all on my DVR ready to watch after Thanksgiving.

  5. I have so many Christmas movies that I watch over and over again. White Christmas, Miracle on 34th Street, It’s A wonderful Life, Christmas Vacation, The Grinch. Animated movies I love to watch are Rudolph The Red Nose Reindeer and How the Grinch Stole Christmas.. There are so many, many more I love too…

  6. Pingback: Favorite Holiday Movies | Angelinas' I video! Hear me ROAR!

    • So many holiday movies to choose from. Of course the Hallmark and Lifetime movies and then there’s the old ones like White Christmas, Holiday Inn, Holiday Affair, Meet me in St. Louis, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Charlie Brown Christmas, Christmas Story, Little Drummer Boy just to name a few. Most poignant scene in Meet Me In St. Louis Judy Garland singing Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas to her little sister. That is my favorite Christmas song

      • Rosanne, there are so many beautiful Christmas songs out there. I dig out the old CD’s of them and play them while I write sometimes–the radio stations play the same old songs over and over and it’s nice to listen to the original artists once in a awhile.

      • That’s so true Marin. White Christmas, Chestnuts Roasting…, Silver Bells, Most Wonderful Time. ., It’s Beginning To…, What Child.., Silent Night, First Noel just to name a few . Too many to choose. Love this time of year. Christmas music is so joyful and puts you in the holiday spirit.

      • Love the Home Alone 1 and 2!! Not a fan of other two. McCauley Culkin makes the movie with Joe Pesci and sidekick. McCauley s scream is hilarious !!

Leave a Reply

