Wild West Trivia

What is the name of this famous bar in San Antonio?

This bar is one of the oldest bars in America–originally built as part of a hotel in 1858 by German immigrant William Menger. According to records and local myths the bar has seen more cattle deals consummated than any other single location in the United States. Captain Richard King, founder of the famous King Ranch, was said to regularly carry $10,000 in cash while drinking at the bar. King he died in the hotel in 1885. Ulysses S. Grant, O. Henry and Teddy Roosevelt all drank at the bar at one time. Roosevelt recruited many of his Rough Riders from the bar. In 1887 the bar was remodeled in 1887 to be an exact replica of the pub in England’s House of Lords.

zzmengal bar 1

27 thoughts on “Wild West Trivia

  1. The Menger Hotel was unofficially referred to as “The Most Haunted Hotel in Texas”!
    Also loved how notable guests have included Robert E. Lee, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Mae West, Babe Ruth, Oscar Wilde, Cornelius Vanderbilt, etc.

  2. It’s called The Menger Bar and you won’t believe how small it is. I’ll be staying at The Menger for just about a week next month when I go to San Antonio for the Wild Wicked Weekend. I’ve stayed there the last 2 years for this little con and I just love this hotel. I haven’t seen any ghosts but I know people who insist they saw them or had strange experiences when they were there. I’ll think of you and getting to meet you last July when I am there.

  3. That would be The Menger Hotel near the Riverwalk (not far from my neck of the woods). This is where Teddy Roosevelt recruited his rough riders cavalry. Famous guess included Teddy on down to The Babe!

  4. Living in San Antonio, I love the Menger Hotel and I love the Menger Bar, it is very small but all that history is so awesome when you walk inside you can almost hear and feel what it must of been like. I love going down to the riverwalk during Christmas when it’s all lite up and the Menger looks so beautiful!!!

  5. It’s the Menger Bar – a cozy pub like bar with a balcony. I’ve been a few times and love the atmosphere. You should visit if you are ever in San Antonio. My husband and I try to when we are down there. Maybe one day we’ll stay in the Hotel.

  6. The Menger Bar. The only time I was in San Antonio I was around 10 years old. We visited the Alamo, but obviously not the vars. LOL

  7. Yeah for everyone getting the answer right–Menger bar!! This is one place I need to see when I visit my siblings the next time I’m in San Antonio. Here’s more info from Wikipedia… The hotel was built beginning in 1858 by German immigrant William Menger, as an expansion of his boarding house business and adjunct to his brewery. Immediately successful, a 40-room extension was started before the initial building was completed in January 1859, 23 years after the fall of the adjacent Alamo. By the 1870s, the Menger was the best known hotel in the southwest. The hotel is mentioned several times in the works of O Henry, and hosted Ulysses S. Grant in 1880. It hosted Theodore Roosevelt at least three times, most notably in 1898 when he used the bar to recruit Rough Riders, who fought in Cuba in the Spanish-American War.

    • Marin,
      The whole area is awesome! You’ve got the Riverwalk Botanical Gardens Alamo. Just to name a few. I love riding in the boats. Food is awesome too. I never got to visit the Menger Bar but definitely have that on my list for next time! πŸ™‚
      Rosanne

    • You’ve got the Riverwalk Botanical Gardens Alamo. Just to name a few. I love riding in the boats. Food is awesome too. I never got to visit the Menger Bar but definitely have that on my list for next time!
      Rosanne

      • Rosanne–I love the Riverwalk–been there several times but I could kick myself for not knowing about the Menger Bar down there so I am definitely going to see the place. My daughter may come home spring break from grad school so if she does we’ll make it a girls’ weekend and drive down there to check it out πŸ™‚ Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

