Inspirational Movies

I love movies based on true stories—I think it stems from my love of history. In honor of Martin Luther King Jr. Day I thought I’d mention the movie Selma, which came out in theaters a little over a week ago. I saw the previews when my daughter and I went to watch Unbroken (highly recommend this one). Selma is based on the 1965 Selma to Montgomery voting rights marches led by James Bevel, Hosea Williams, and Martin Luther King. And another based-on-a-true story movie I’d like to see is McFarland starring Kevin Costner.

Do you like inspirational movies and if so, do you have a favorite?

Selma

McFarland

12 thoughts on “Inspirational Movies

  1. I love them, especiallly the sports ones like Remember The Titans and We Are Marshall, which is weird because I `m not a big fan of sports. I don`t have a favorite one though.

  2. Movies about historical events are great, as long as they are ACCURATE. I heard a review about Selma that indicated LBJ was depicted as not being supportive of MLK Jr., but the reviewer and the host of the show both agreed that LBJ was indeed very supportive. REMEMBER THE TITANS is one of my favorite movies. I agree – I love sports stories too.

    I just finished Porter Cash’s story = WONDERFUL! I wish it had been 70 chapters!! I was finished before I was ready to end the story. I’m now excited about your new series. Happy Writing, Marin!

    • Hi Hilda–you’re right some movies stray from the facts, but I try to keep an open mind when I watch them. But I think they try and tweak the facts to make it more compelling. Glad you enjoyed Porter’s story–thanks for stopping by the blog and have a good rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

