Texas Junk Company

If you’ve been following my blog forever then you know that I love antiques and junk hunting. I’m the one in the car that always shouts, “Pull over–I want to check out that place!” A couple of weeks ago I went to the Texas Junk Company in downtown Houston. I need a western key rack for the kitchen wall. I didn’t find what I was looking for, but I snapped a few pictures to share with you.

zzTexasJunk4

Here’s the thing–I know nothing about antiques. I just like looking at old stuff. Blame it on my love of history and the writer in me. The first thing I do when I walk into an antique store or junk shop is stand off to the side and take a deep breath. Go ahead and laugh, but the scent of dust and moldy furniture gets my heart racing.

zzTXJunk

Then I slowly walk around, my eyes skimming every object, waiting for that one item to jump out at me and demand my attention—that afternoon it was a bathtub.

zzTXJunk2

My mind races with questions… How did this tub end up here? Who took a bath in it—mostly children? A single woman? Perhaps lovers? Or was the tub thrown out because a child drowned in it…or it was the scene of a murder? By the time I leave a place like this my head is so full of story ideas, it hurts.

xxTexasJunk1

Are you a junk hunter or do you avoid rummage sales, flea markets and antique shops at all costs?

MarinSignature

24 thoughts on “Texas Junk Company

  1. No, I am the one who looks at a forest and wonder if anyone has ever stood in a certain spot and, if so, how long ago that was. Who was it? Maybe back in Daniel Boone’s day???

    • Hi Sandy–thanks for leaving a comment on the blog! Like you when I tour historical places I like to think back on who was there before…I remember years ago seeing the petrified wagon wheel tracks and trying to image the families that went west by wagon and what might have happened to them. Enjoy your Monday!

    • HI Kathleen, thanks for dropping by the blog. I enjoy antique stores, too, even though I don’t know much about antiques. I did find the same cookie cutters my mother used in a store a few weeks ago and they were priced at $4.50 a piece 🙂

  2. I love going to Antique & Flea Markets. There is a great one in Downtown Seattle in Pike’s Ally. Nothing better than spending a rainy afternoon browsing

    • Hi Sabrina–I guess you can’t be afraid to get wet if you love flea markets in Seattle 🙂 Texas has some huge flea markets that I’ve been to through the years–always fun to browse those. Hope you’re having a good day!

    • Morgan, that’s the beauty of junk hunting–it’s amazing what you can find for little money if you look hard enough. Plus, most vendors are willing to negotiate so I’ve gotten some great deals through haggling. Thanks for stopping by the blog!

  3. I love junking! I plan day trips that include flea markets, antique stores and thrift stores. When we are on vacations I will stop at these places also. I love the fact that when we travel in the South and Midwest that there are huge barns with stuff to look at. My hubby and daughter just expect it now and go along with it 🙂

    • LOL, Lori! You’re right about those barns! I grew up in WI and went to a few out of the way barns when my parents were looking for relics to decorate their “Old West” bar in our basement. Hope your week has gotten off to a good start!

  4. I love junk stores and flee markets, I don’t get to go to them often and I try not to buy a lot of junk because I have enough all ready. Not that my junk is antique or anything, mine is just junk.

  5. Love garage sales, estate sales, flea markets……..Canton, Texas has great finds at their Trade Days every month. I was raised shopping this way and my kids were too. Third generation, some of the best things the grandsons play with came second hand. I remember bathing in a tub like that at my grandmother’s house when I was a little girl and wishing we had one at home. Treasure hunting is so much fun!

    • Hi Michelle–thanks for stopping by the blog! I’ve been to Canton–love it! And you’re right about some of the best toys being ones broken in by other kids 🙂 I like to look for junk to decorate my garden at flea markets. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

