What Have You Been Reading Lately?

I’m making a concerted effort to read more books this year and I wanted to share a couple of stories that I’ve really enjoyed–both very different in tone and content.

House Broken by Sonja Yoerg

zzzbook1

This a darker read about a woman forced to take care of her alcoholic mother after the mother gets into a car accident and injures herself. What I thought was unique about this book was the story-telling–the author tells the story from the grandmother, mother and daughter’s viewpoints and each character has a very distinct voice.

The All-Girl Filling Station’s Last Reunion by Fannie Flagg

zzzzbook

If you haven’t read a Fannie Flagg book before, you need to put this author on your to-read list. She’s an amazing story-teller. As I read this book I felt as if Fannie was sitting across the table from me chatting my ear off. The book is about an older woman discovering she’s been adopted and how she deals with the question: Who am I? Those of you who enjoy a little history in your books will learn about our countries first female pilots.

So what are you reading right now?

MarinSignature

16 thoughts on “What Have You Been Reading Lately?

  1. Both sounds really good. I’ve been busy reading ARC’s for several writers lately, but with my very little free time I’ve read a novella by Lori Foster and Messy Beautiful Love by Darlene Schacht.

  2. Some of the books I’ve been reading lately:
    Chickens in the Road: An Adventure in Ordinary Splendor by Suzanne McMinn (I just love her blog!)
    Fossil Legends of the First Americans by Adrienne Mayor
    London Steampunk series by Bec McMaster
    Gaslight Chronicles by Cindy Spencer Pape

      • Adrienne Mayor has also some other interesting books, like The First Fossil Hunters and Greek Fire, Poison Arrows & Scorpion Bombs. There are also tv documentaries based on her books. You might actually find at least Ancient Monster Hunters on YouTube.

  3. Those sound good, Marin.

    The last two books I read were ALEX and then GARRETT, both by Sawyer Bennett and part of her ‘Cold Fury Hockey’ romance series. They were my first books by this author and I really liked them.

    Strangely enough I’m now reading another hockey romance. LOL I’m reading Comeback by Catherine Gayle. It’s part of her ‘Portland Storm’ series. I love this series! She tackles some pretty deep subjects along with the hockey and romance.

  4. I just finished FAR SIDE OF THE SKY by Daniel Kalla and immediately ordered the sequel. Until it arrives, I’m reading THE BOOK THIEF, probably the last person on earth who hasn’t already read it. LOL I read romance novels on my Kindle, but have to read paper at bedtime or the light interferes with my sleep for a while after I turn off the Kindle. Still, I love the Kindle for reading on the go. I stick it in my purse whenever I leave home. I want to check out some of the books mentioned in your comments.

    • Hi Caroline–thanks for stopping by the blog. Funny how you mentioned the Kindle light interfering with your sleep late at night–I’ve heard more than a few people say that. But I think a Kindle is the way to go as we get older–the ability to enlarge the print is so important because a lot of books don’t come in large-print. Hope you’re having a good week!

Leave a Reply

