Good Luck Symbols

I was going through an old jewelry box the other day and came across a rabbit’s foot that I’ve had for I don’t know how long–at least a couple of decades. I can’t even remember how I ended up with it. Finding the foot reminded me that I had a lucky horseshoe somewhere in the house and a lucky penny in my wallet. I remember being told as a kid that these things brought good luck but no one had ever explained what they meant.

Lucky Rabbit’s foot– Rabbits and hares were considered very lucky animals as they were associated with spring and the return of flowers and other plants. Spring was also a time of fertility and so rabbits were considered good luck to be seen running through the fields. To see a rabbit running through your yard meant that it would be a good year to have children or that your garden would be especially fertile this year.

zzzfoot

Four-Leaf Clover-is a symbol that means good luck to the person who finds one. What do the leaves symbolize?
One leaf is for FAITH…The second for HOPE… The third for LOVE… And the fourth for LUCK!

zzclover

Horseshoe-The horseshoe is considered very lucky and used to be hung in many homes to protect and attract good fortune for the family residing inside. Horseshoes were also considered lucky because they were made by blacksmiths, which is also considered a very lucky trade. Because they worked with elemental fire and magical iron, they were thought to have special powers.

zzshoe

Lucky Penny-Lots of superstitions center around money. Almost all forms of currency have at least one superstition associated with them. The most common superstition heard today, with respect to the penny, is the rhyming verse: “Find a penny, pick it up, and all day long you’ll have good luck.”

zzzgoodlucvk penny

Goldfish – Throughout the different cultures all over the world, goldfish are considered the harbingers of prosperity, growth, wealth, power, long life, wisdom and peace. They are kept in bowls or ponds to bring good luck in homes and work places. As one of the 8 sacred symbols of Buddha, goldfish are symbolic of abundance, fertility and harmony in life. The ancient Egyptians believed them to be lucky omens that brought positivity in domestic situations, while the ancient Greek domesticated them to enhance good luck in relationships and marriages. The Chinese and Japanese also associate goldfish with growth and preservation of wealth and success.

zzgoldfish

Do you have a good luck….something that you’ve hung onto all these years?

MarinSignature

20 thoughts on “Good Luck Symbols

  1. We had clover patches all over our yard when I was growing up and I always liked searching for four-leaf clovers. We don’t have clover patches in our yard now, but I sometimes look for them at the park. My son has 2 four-leaf clovers, one that his grandfather gave to him when he was a baby & one that I found for him.

    • Rachael–what a neat story about your son’s clovers–to have one from his grandpa is priceless. I think we’ve all been caught searching patches of 4-leaf clovers -I did just the other day while I was out in the yard with the dogs πŸ™‚ Have a great week!

  2. Like Rachel, we had clover in our lawn when I was young. I would spend time searching for a four-leaf clover, but never found one. I bought one when we went to Ireland. It’s preserved in a magnet. I believe having been in Ireland was already good luck. πŸ™‚ I always pick up a penny when I find one. As the comic’s saying goes, “I may not be superstitious, but I am stitious.” Have a great week.

    • LOL, Caroline! I think a lot of people are “stitious” πŸ™‚ My husband went to Ireland on business and mentioned all the four-leaf clover souvenirs in all the gift shops. You have a good week, too!

  3. I haven’t thought about the lucky rabbit foot for ages. I had one when I was a kid. I just had to Google them to see if you could still get them. Yep. You sure can.

  4. I will always pick up a penny if I find one and keep it. When I was a teenager I had loafers that you could put the pennies in and they had two lucky pennies that I had found in them. I wore those loafers until they wore out!!πŸ‘žπŸ‘žπŸ‘ž

  5. At some point I probably had a few of those lucky items. To this day I will bend over to pick up a penny and say the saying. I also had a penny in my shoe when I got married. I can’t remember who told me I needed to do that, but there I was on my wedding day with a penny in my shoe πŸ™‚

  6. I don’t have any thing for luck right now but like everyone else I will pick up a penny if I find one and say the old saying in my head. I use to look for four leaf clovers but never had much luck finding them. I knew a lady once could set down in a patch of clover and find all kinds of four leaf clovers.

  7. Had a penny in my shoe on the day we got married and still have that penny. It is one of my good luck charms πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

