The TBR Pile

People who love to read usually have a TBR (To Be Read) pile–I keep mine in my office, which probably isn’t smart, because when I stall out on my own writing I’m tempted to end my work day early and dive into my reading.

As many of you know, I recently branched out into writing women’s fiction along with my Harlequin romances. I’ve been a lifelong reader of romances–all genres, but until I sold The Promise Of Forgiveness (March 2016) to Penguin Books I had only read a few women’s fiction books over the years. Now that I’m writing in the genre I’ve been like a kid in a candy shop discovering all kinds of new authors.

I wanted to share two books with you that I’ve recently read that I think you might enjoy. Both of these authors are excellent writers. And the covers are beautiful!

Dear Carolina by Kristy Woodson Harvey~Southern Women’s Fiction. This is a heartfelt story with a baby in the middle of it.

zzzpinterest1

Secrets of a Charmed Life by Susan Meisnnner~current day with a flashback to 1940’s England and the evacuation of London’s children to foster homes in the rural countryside. If you like a little history in your books then you’ll really enjoy this one.

zzzzzsecretlife

Do you read women’s fiction books? I’d love to know why or why not!

zzMarin Thomas Sig

PER-ORDER

zzzzPromise

 

 

14 thoughts on “The TBR Pile

  1. I love reading Woman’s Fiction. I just finished reading one as a matter of fact. Blueprints by Barbara Delinsky.. I ma putting your recommendations on my tbr list.. I love to read a lot of different types of romance too..

  2. I do read some women fiction, Jane Porter has some good ones. Most of the time I read historicals, western romance, and contemporary. I read a little of everything except not much on paranormal or sci-fi.

    • Virginia, I hope you’ll give my women’s fiction book a try when it comes out next March. It’s contemporary, takes place in Oklahoma panhandle on a ranch setting with a small town so it might hit some of the things you enjoy reading 🙂 Plus the heroine does have a love interest but I don’t spend the whole book focusing on trying to get them together like I do with my Harlequin books.

  3. I do read women’s fiction. They take a little longer to get through, but as long as there is a romance with a happy ending, I’m in! I can recommend Jill Mansell, Sophie Kinsella, Marissa de los Santos, Sue Margolis & Adriana Trigiani. Congratulations on your new endeavor! I look forward to reading it!

    • Sharlene, thanks for the author recommendations–I’ll check them out. I do have a happy ever after ending in my WF book… and I’ve written romance for so long that it would be tough to write a book where the heroine had no love interest, so I’m glad my editor enjoys them and my heroine gets her hero in my books 🙂

  4. I read a little bit of everything! If I’m finished with my work I usually have a book of some kind in my hand. I’m looking forward to reading your new book 🙂

Leave a Reply

